Either the educated masses have decided not to step forward in Indian telly media or just to promote satellite television broadcast in rural areas, the current Indian television channels and their producers are just showcasing soaps and serials based in rural India. However, if u think that the concept of the shows would be better than the old ones like Kyunki, Kahani, and Kasauti, etc., then u r very much wrong. Nothing other than the setting changes. All the soaps have a rich landlord and a poor peasant's family. The landlord's family conitnue to dress in the loudest ways whereas the peasant's family dress in a way that is enuf to seduce anyone on this earth...urgh..
For the last three days, i have been catching up on different television shows...one show promotes Bihar, the other my own cast and community (maheshwaris), and the third one on child marriage. Though i did check out some other shows but none keeps me on hold for more than few minutes. Last nite one of my flatmates said "how can u watch such shows? i laugh on them"...i said "babes even i watch them to give my funny bone sometime to tickle".
My parents might require a shock recovery therapy if they get to know that their daughter has stopped watching shows like Balika Vadhu, Bandini, Pavitra Rishta, Laadli, Bairi Piya, and so on. After the queen of soaps EK, i am the mermaid of tv industry who knows story of almost all the shows (though all have the same stories...i remember the scene by scene narrations...) half of the times, when the producers didnt broadcast preview of the next episode...i cud predict the story of episodes for as much as a week.
Anyways, continuing with the main issue. Out of the three shows, the one popular at my PG is the one based on the urban Bihar/UP. It's known as "Pratigya" which is also the name of the female lead in the show. Supposedly, she is to face all brutal tortures in the hands of everyone and still will keep her fighting spirit on...however, i wonder how long can people bear the torture of watching this show and the female lead who appears no less than a statute. The only relief in the show is the dialogues and why not...after all that part of the countrymen are famous for their slang language....i remember one scene where the husband and wife are arguing and the wife says "i wont talk to u coz u hit me the other day"...the guy replies "ab tum biwi ho toh maar toh khawgi nah"...huh...felt like hitting him hard then and there.
the other show...based on Maheshwaris is another nuisance on this earth...i wonder how long will it continue...the show had a beautiful theme but they have already played it badly....no chance of further improvement...after watching this show, i wonder how long people take to adjust in a marriage...the lead husband and wife just keep on fighting over petty issues...hubby getting envy for wife's time...moreover, the hubby is very irritating...i just wish i dont find such a character in real life...
third one...i forgot...have been writing this post for so long that i actually forgot abt the third show...welll good for those who r gonna read this.
to be contd...
No comments:
Post a Comment