Wednesday, July 14, 2010

India TV and Live India...Can't they be banned?

If bearing India TV was not enuf...dont know who (i doubt its an output from the same producers) started LIVE INDIA....after watching this new channel i really had to run for my life..

Well this morning i was very hungry (after the salt-less fast yesterday), so i came to office early...yes u guessed right...i came to have my share of brkfst. As soon as i entered my office pantry, i thanked god for someone had not switched on any of those tele-serial channels. It was Live India and the clock had just turned 9.30. I thought grt i will catch up on some news today....and the brking news that i got to see was "Rekha ki Kamsin Ada ka Raaz"...

First the channel editor need to check the choice of words...a news bulletin on someone of the stature of Rekha cant be treated to that of Maliika Sherawat...then her latest pics were showered on the screen one by one....and then the anchor said "aayiye aaj hum muawna karenge rekha ki in tasveeron ka ki kya hai raaz unki is khubsurti ke peeche"

Bas...this was the time for me to get up and run towards my seat...i cant beat such crappy news that too in the very morning....

But as a media lover, i have some questions to the producers and sponsors behind such shows:
1. First thing first, do they even priortise news items with the kind of viewership...i mean on a weekday people watch news in the morning to check the market status and status of the events across other parts of the world when we were asleep. No one wants to know in the morning whether Rekha had plastic surgery or she got them thru photoshop...coz it doesnt affect the NSE, BSE, or any other markets in the world or rather i use thw word economy.

2. She is Rekha, before using words like Kamsin and all (i cant even post them here), atleast journos shud check for whom r they using it...she is not a cheap actress or newbie who's trying to make entry to the indian cinema...instead of covering her contribution to Indian cinema, the low key Hindi channels are busy creating controversy on her new looks...is it because the today's generation cant maintain their figure?

3. The media should learn to classify news items and keep the tone of their voices accordingly...creating unnecessary sansani out of such a small issue is no fun...today they figured out Rekha got these looks thru photoshop...tell me which photographer doesnt use photoshop these days...even if u go for a normal passport size photo to a local photoshop, they also use photoshop to highlight ur features and make the pic look better...i myself have witnessed these in two incidences when my friends with marks on their faces got their snaps clicked. the photographer cleaned the marks from their faces...so the media houses need to grow up and come up with something worthy.

Latest Off(sp)rings on Indian Television

Either the educated masses have decided not to step forward in Indian telly media or just to promote satellite television broadcast in rural areas, the current Indian television channels and their producers are just showcasing soaps and serials based in rural India. However, if u think that the concept of the shows would be better than the old ones like Kyunki, Kahani, and Kasauti, etc., then u r very much wrong. Nothing other than the setting changes. All the soaps have a rich landlord and a poor peasant's family. The landlord's family conitnue to dress in the loudest ways whereas the peasant's family dress in a way that is enuf to seduce anyone on this earth...urgh..

For the last three days, i have been catching up on different television shows...one show promotes Bihar, the other my own cast and community (maheshwaris), and the third one on child marriage. Though i did check out some other shows but none keeps me on hold for more than few minutes. Last nite one of my flatmates said "how can u watch such shows? i laugh on them"...i said "babes even i watch them to give my funny bone sometime to tickle".

My parents might require a shock recovery therapy if they get to know that their daughter has stopped watching shows like Balika Vadhu, Bandini, Pavitra Rishta, Laadli, Bairi Piya, and so on. After the queen of soaps EK, i am the mermaid of tv industry who knows story of almost all the shows (though all have the same stories...i remember the scene by scene narrations...) half of the times, when the producers didnt broadcast preview of the next episode...i cud predict the story of episodes for as much as a week.

Anyways, continuing with the main issue. Out of the three shows, the one popular at my PG is the one based on the urban Bihar/UP. It's known as "Pratigya" which is also the name of the female lead in the show. Supposedly, she is to face all brutal tortures in the hands of everyone and still will keep her fighting spirit on...however, i wonder how long can people bear the torture of watching this show and the female lead who appears no less than a statute. The only relief in the show is the dialogues and why not...after all that part of the countrymen are famous for their slang language....i remember one scene where the husband and wife are arguing and the wife says "i wont talk to u coz u hit me the other day"...the guy replies "ab tum biwi ho toh maar toh khawgi nah"...huh...felt like hitting him hard then and there.

the other show...based on Maheshwaris is another nuisance on this earth...i wonder how long will it continue...the show had a beautiful theme but they have already played it badly....no chance of further improvement...after watching this show, i wonder how long people take to adjust in a marriage...the lead husband and wife just keep on fighting over petty issues...hubby getting envy for wife's time...moreover, the hubby is very irritating...i just wish i dont find such a character in real life...

third one...i forgot...have been writing this post for so long that i actually forgot abt the third show...welll good for those who r gonna read this.

to be contd...

Saturday, July 10, 2010

Return of the Options

Well, as the return of the fourth season of the first popular quiz based show on Indian TV gets confirmed...here the daily viewers are already facing the wrath of options every day on the idiot box...

Seems as there is lack of creative heads or scriptwriters are left with no source of copying, re-writing, or begging for fresh episodes; producers are trying to reap in benefit even from such situations...maybe to collect funds to hire some good professionals...

Some examples of the various options on TV:
1. Three girls are showcased...select the one who u wish to make ur Balika Vadhu coz the producers hope of running the show till Avika gets 18 cudnt materialise., :P
2. The scriptwriter ran away in the middle of week or in a month where there is no festivity, or the script got lost, or they forgot abt the script at all...watever the reason maybe...the aam janta is so intelligent that they can always decide the flow of their fav soap...so the producers ask u to sms them (and each of which is charged Rs. 3) the new flow of the story..by asking questions as in "ab bindiya ko iske aage kya karna chahiye?" "kya aap saadhna ko wapas zinda dekhna chahte hai?"
3. and if all of this is not enuf, then the producers in association with some bloody fairness creams or jewelery companies (targeting the irrational homemakers) start some quiz contest based on the pathetic shows...and the questions are so tough..."kumkum main sumit kiska pati tha?"

well, all said and criticsed, i am one of those rational television viewer who still loves the idiot box for its silly nuisances as atleast it gives u some momentary pleasure while watching ads like "AAMSUTRA", "PLATINUM LOVE BANDS" and "Daag Ache Hai"!!!

Thursday, June 17, 2010

Rishta Wahi Soch Nayi

Yes, this is the new slogan for one of the prominent Indian TV channel who has completed 10 years of broadcasting melodrama. I dont know if its apt for the channel's shows coz i dont find anything new, but yes the promos that have been used are highly commendable. One must watch it!

Few of the ads that have caught my senses are:
1. Adopting the girl child (I have to admit it, its not just the ad but also Sachin Tyagi who has been roped in there...i love him!).
2. Daughter encouraging mother to sit for exams.
3. Bonding between mother-in-law and daughter-in-law so much so that they plan for a night show.

Hats off to the creative head behind the concept of these ads!

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Yeh Serial Kyun Itna Pakata Hai...

If my blog title doesnt remind you of the great Indian Tv show...then u were the lucky one to escape the torture (do lemme know hw u managed)

anyways, let me not divert myself from the main mudda...why after an year am i writing abt this disgusting show (yes u read me correct...disgusting...utter disgust coz it wrongly portrays Maheshwari girls...i wanna shoe the creative head), this morning i again switchd on TV and switched to this particular channel (for wat? i love to see snippets of all the Tv shows whenever i can manage)...so i was watching particular show named after a popular song from a movie based on our country's capital....after few mins only, it was time for the 5 min long break..for once today i dont why i was stuck to this one channel...and then there came this ad from the show... "the female protagonist was shown very happy and talking to the audience that she is very happy for she will be celebrating her frst birthday after marriage....(with the speed with which she got married...i remember it took her husband 4 weeks to go and marry her in the same city even when there was no traffic or curfew...no wonder by this time she cud have celebrated her birthday twice)...well back to the main point, so the lady is happy as she expects her husband to plan some surprise for her (but tell me if she expects him to throw a surprise, then wat is the surpirse?...she knows that there wud be something for her)...anyways, she is happy and like always when she doesnt have any work, she sits infront of the mirror and is abt to apply some make up...suddenly her hubby appears (like naradmuni he too loves sudden appearances)....she expects him that he will take her in his arms (in the morning???) and wish her...but he being another nautanki, he just informs her that he is leaving for offc....the girl gets upset and the ad comes to an end!!SIGH :)

The wrong messages that the show gives abt Maheshwari balikas:
1. We dont always sit infront of the mirror.
2. We dont keep our brains aside.
3. We dont cry on every damn thing on this earth.
4. We are not at all sophisticated dolls.
I remember working on a project with crunch deadlines last year when the longest marriage on TV was organised on this show. I have this Bong friend who was very enthusiastic to watch a Rajasthani marriage and everyday she used to ask me one question "Laddoo, in logon ka shaadi kab hoga?" Huh! waise i do keep asking a similar question to God abt myself but i will ensure that my hubby doesnt have to wait for so long and vice versa!!!

Monday, April 5, 2010

Mishal Raheja Fan Club at my PG

He might not be the talk of nation, town, city, or even a lane, but he is the God at Flat 103, ......
My roomies lie flat and can watch him without a single wink of an eye......admiring!
reminds me of my days when i was mad abt Ram Kapoor and Hussain! For the former i used to reach tutions late and the for the latter, i used to watch Kumkum at 1.30 in the night!
Who said Tv stars are small in size?

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

The Modern Day Melo-Drama—Ads on TV

Yesterday only i was watching this latest toothpaste AD featuring Kajol.......
first the AD:

Kajol appears and says "Maa bante hi kitna kuch badal jaata hai......jaise mera favorite channel" (at this point she appears with a little girl, who is not her real-life daughter, and a tv with cartoon running on it........then she continues "Tabhi mere dentist ne mujhe bataya ki mujhe yeh particular toothpaste use karna chahiye coz isme hai blah blah protection shakti joh aapke daanton ko de extra protection"


Now, i need answer to certain questions abt the idea/logic behind this ad:

1. Why did the dentist suggest this toothpaste only after our actress became a mother?

2. Why did not they offer the reason for suggesting tise toothpaste only after the actress became a mother?

3. If the toothpaste has nothing to do with pregnancy, then the dentist shud be sued for not suggesting the toothpaste earlier.....